Categories
My Clips

Reworked: Beyond the Ping-Pong Table

I think a lot about workplace culture in remote work. Before it was cool and before it became a pandemic-inspired norm, I thought about how I could better work with my team from a distance. It’s what happens when you’ve been working remotely for more than a decade.

Perks and benefits certainly play a role in an organization’s culture. But when you get beyond healthcare benefits, paid time off and a great 401(k), you start getting into perks that seem more about keeping people entertained rather than productive or well compensated. They also indicated a certain type of workplace culture. Stocked fridges full of LaCroix, beer kegs, soft furniture scattered across an open workspace and yes, ping-pong tables, became a norm in certain sectors.

Read the rest at Reworked

By Lance Haun

Strategy for The Starr Conspiracy. Former HR pro. Portland guy (Go Blazers!) and WSU alum (Go Cougs!). I get to write about what I want here.